John Holton (john_holton) wrote,
John Holton

Bitchin' 'bout baseball...

Congratulations are in order to the Boston Red Sox for their four-game sweep of both the Yankees (OK, after they'd lost three) and the Cardinals. Much was made of the fact that the Red Sox hadn't won a World Series since 1918.

I say, who cares?

The Chicago White Sox haven't won a World Series since 1917 (though they probably would have won in 1919 had some of the players not thrown it). They're the true story of frustration in the American League. (You Cub fans who want to tell me that the Cubs haven't won the World Series since 1908: I don't care. The Cubs suck.)

Consider that since 1917, all of the other original teams in the AL (Yankees, Red Sox, Senators/Twins, Athletics, Browns/Orioles, Tigers and Indians) have won the World Series at least once. Since 1959, the last time the White Sox were even in the World Series, seven teams have been added to the AL (Senators/Rangers, Angels, Pilots/Brewers, Mariners, Blue Jays, Royals and Devil Rays), four of which have appeared in the World Series (Angels, Pilots/Brewers, Blue Jays, and Royals), three of which won the World Series and one of which isn't even in the American League anymore. The Sox have made it to the postseason three times since divisional play was started in 1969 and have lost all three times (1983, 1993 and 2000). Since the current playoff format was started, two AL Wild Card teams (California and Boston), who didn't even finish first in their division, have won the World Series.

So, congratulations to Boston. You've broken the Curse of the Bambino. Maybe next year the Sox will break the curse of lousy owners.

(Cross-posted to the White Sox group)

  • Post a new comment


    Anonymous comments are disabled in this journal

    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    Your IP address will be recorded